My knowledge on fighting games (WIP)

View previous topic View next topic Go down

My knowledge on fighting games (WIP)

Post by Dragon5 on 20th September 2014, 10:14 pm

Per the MAN's request, I decided to type up all my fighting knowledge even though I am by NO means a professional. Anyone in tournament play can explain this better than I could, but at least I know the basics.

Combos
Originally a bug in Street Fighter II, it was kept as an extra feature for other players to find out because of its difficulty in performing. Now they are the most important aspect in fighting games. They also help define how the game is paced. Both Melty Blood and Street Fighter IV are fast-paced, but they execute their combos EXTREMELY different with their mechanics. Don't expect to do combos in Street Fighter the same way you do in Melty Blood. Street Fighter requires precision while Melty Blood needs you to be quick although more flexible; both have a learning curve on how to deal the most damage. Hero Fighter has combo options as well thanks to the ability to hit opponents at almost any time. The game's simplicity does affect how extreme combos can be.

Damage Scaling